
  Michael K. Jeanes, Clerk of Court 
  *** Electronically Filed *** 
  03/17/2014 8:00 AM 

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 

MARICOPA COUNTY 

 
FC 2009-001603  03/13/2014 

   

 

Docket Code 056 Form D000C Page 1  

 

 

 CLERK OF THE COURT 

HON. ROGER E. BRODMAN K. Philpot 

 Deputy 

  

        

IN RE THE MATTER OF  

TORIANA BREANN RIALS TORIANA BREANN RIALS 

11938 W CORRINE DR 

EL MIRAGE AZ  85335 

  

AND  

  

JACOB ANDREW DUBUC JACOB ANDREW DUBUC 

14040 W COUNTRY GABLES 

SURPRISE AZ  85379 

  

  

  

 AG-CHILD SUPPORT-SOUTH 

CENTRAL OFFICE 

LAB EXPRESS INC - PHOENIX 

TASC - PHOENIX 

  

  

 

MINUTE ENTRY 

 

Courtroom CCB 601 

 

1:32 p.m. This is the time set for Resolution Management Conference on Father’s 

Petition to Modify Parenting Time and Child Support filed on December 7, 2013.  

Petitioner/Mother Toriana Rials appears on her own behalf. Respondent/Father Jacob Dubuc 

appears on his own behalf. 

 

A record of the proceedings is made by audio and/or videotape in lieu of a court reporter.  

 

Toriana Rials and Jacob Dubuc are sworn 

 

Discussion is held with the Court regarding the status of the case. 
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Based on the matters presented, 

 

IT IS ORDERED that within 24 hours of today’s date, Father shall provide Mother a 

copy of the Petition to Modify Parenting Time and Child Support filed on December 7, 2013. 

 

HAIR FOLLICLE TESTING ORDERED 

 

IT IS ORDERED that within 24 hours of today’s date, Mother and Father must appear 

for a hair follicle test.  The results of that test shall be provided directly to the Court by the 

testing agency.  

 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Mother shall undergo a hair follicle drug test at a 

location of TASC, Inc. as indicated on the TASC Referral Form, and Father shall arrange for the 

test to be performed by Lab Express Inc., at 505 W. McDowell Rd. Bldg. A, Phoenix, Arizona 

85003, 602-273-9000. 

 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that prior to the hair follicle test, neither party may cut, 

dye or chemically treat his or her hair in any way that might alter the test results. 

 

TASC TESTING ORDERED 

 

IT IS ORDERED that Mother and Father shall submit to a urinalysis drug testing on the 

following basis: 

 

A. Agency.  Mother’s and Father's urinalysis drug testing shall be conducted at the 

following testing agency or at a location of TASC, Inc. as indicated on the Referral Form: 

 

TASC, Inc. 

2234 N. 7th Street 

Phoenix, Arizona 85006 

Phone: (602) 254-7328 

 

B. First Test.  Mother and Father shall report to TASC by the close of business 

today for their first test. 

 

C. Scope.  Mother and Father shall undergo a full spectrum substance and drug test 

Screen A for each test ordered herein. 

 

D. Cooperation.  Mother and Father shall cooperate fully as reasonably required by 

the testing agency to comply with this Order, including: 
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 1. Mother and Father shall provide such samples as are reasonably required 

by the testing agency to comply with this order. 

 

 2. Mother and Father shall timely report for testing and provide samples as 

directed by the testing agency. 

 

 3. Mother and Father shall present photo identification to the testing agency 

at the time of each test, along with any prescription medications currently being taken. 

 

 4. Mother and Father shall sign and deliver such forms of consent, 

authorization and release of test results as shall be reasonably required by the testing agency to 

comply with this Order. 

 

E. Cost.  Mother and Father shall pay the cost of their testing ($25.00 per test) by 

money order or cashier's check at the time of testing. If Mother’s testing yields a negative result, 

Father shall reimburse Mother’s costs for testing. 

 

 F. Frequency & Duration.  Mother shall submit to testing one time. Father shall be 

randomly tested not less than once per week until he has obtained four consecutive weekly 

negative tests.  Testing shall then be complete.   

 

 G. Positive/Diluted/Missed Test.  In the event that Father tests positive on any test, 

misses a random test, or provides a diluted test sample on any test, the cycle and frequency of 

testing set forth in paragraph F above, shall be started again with weekly tests.  All parties are 

advised that the failure, neglect or refusal to participate in testing, or providing a diluted test sample 

at the time of testing, may be considered an admission by the party that the testing, if properly 

conducted, would have revealed the use of the substance(s) tested for, which finding is contrary to 

the best interest of a child.  Certain prescription medications may cause a positive drug test result.  

Parties who are required to drug test are expected to provide proof to the court of prescriptions and 

documentation from health care providers regarding the lawful possession and use of those 

medications. 

 

H. Reporting.  The parties are hereby advised that test results ARE NOT 

confidential and will be filed in the Court file upon receipt by the Court.  The results of each test 

shall be reported directly to counsel for both parties, or directly to the parties at the addresses 

provided by the parties to the testing agency, if unrepresented by counsel.  The testing agency 

shall also provide this Court with a copy of each test result. 
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Once Father completes two consecutive tests yielding a negative result, he may file any 

motions to modify the current no parenting time order entered by Judge Kiley on November 29, 

2010. 

 

EVIDENTIARY HEARING SETTING 

 

IT IS ORDERED: 

 

 1.  An evidentiary hearing on Father’s Petition to Modify Parenting Time will take 

place as follows: 

 

  a.  Date – June 5, 2014 

 

  b.  Time – 1:30 p.m. 

 

  c.  Location – Maricopa County Superior Court 

                                                Central Court Building 

    201 W. Jefferson 

               Courtroom 601 

                                                Phoenix, Arizona 85003 

 

 IT IS ORDERED that within 30 days from today’s date, the parties are required to file a 

current Affidavit of Financial Information (AFI), and provide a copy to the opposing party. 

 

The Court notes that, because this is a IV-D case, the issue of child support shall not be 

addressed at trial, but shall be addressed in separate proceedings.  

 

2.  Time Set Aside for You – The Court has set aside 1 hour for this hearing.  Pursuant 

to Rule 77(C)(5), Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure, each party will be allowed 1/2 of the 

available time to present all direct, cross, redirect examination and any argument.  The parties are 

expected to complete the hearing in the allotted time, and the time will not be extended absent a 

motion granted by the Court and filed at least thirty (30) days prior to hearing setting forth good 

cause to extend the time and specifically including a list of each and every witness who will 

testify and an estimate of time and subject matter of the expected testimony for each witness.  

 

 3.  Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law – You may request findings of fact and 

conclusions of law regarding the following issues, if they are contested:  child custody, 

relocation requests, spousal maintenance, community property, community debt, and child 

support.  To request findings of fact and conclusions of law, you must file a written request with 
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the Court before the evidentiary hearing.  If you do so, the Court will include findings of fact and 

conclusions of law in its final, written decision. 

 

 If either party asks the Court to make findings of fact and conclusions of law regarding 

any issue, then each party must file written proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law 

regarding all such issues twenty days before the hearing.   The proposed findings also must be 

submitted in an electronic form (preferably Microsoft Word) that can be edited.  The proposed 

findings and conclusions must be submitted as an attachment to the Prehearing 

Memorandum (the Prehearing Memorandum is discussed below).  If you fail to do this, you 

will be deemed to have waived a request for such findings and conclusions.   

 

 4.  Additional Time – If you think additional time needs to be set aside, you must 

request it by filing a motion not later than 30 days before the hearing date stated above.  That 

request must include a reasonable explanation for the request ALONG WITH a list of each 

witness that you intend to have testify, a statement that describes what you expect each such 

witness to say, and an estimate of the amount of time you think will be necessary for that witness 

to testify.  Because of the large number of cases assigned to this Division, it is very difficult to 

reschedule hearings.  Therefore, requests for additional time will be granted only in 

extraordinary circumstances. 

 

 5.  Continuances – Requests to continue (or postpone) the hearing are usually denied.  If 

you think that a postponement is necessary, the request must be made by motion as far in 

advance of the hearing as possible, and that motion must present very compelling reasons for the 

request.  Simply stating “I need more time to prepare” is not sufficient. 

 

 Generally, merely stating in the motion that the other party and you are trying to reach a 

settlement, without any specifics about the subjects of disagreement and what has so far 

prevented agreements from being reached, will not be sufficient.  Before filing such a motion, 

you should make a reasonable attempt to ask the other party (or that party’s attorney, if there is 

one) whether that party agrees or disagrees about a postponement, and then state that party’s 

position in the motion.  Even if the other party agrees to the continuance, the motion must still 

provide sufficient reasons for the request.   

  

VERY IMPORTANT 

What You Need to Do Before the Hearing 
 

 1.  Disclosure -- You must tell the other party, in writing, everything that you will ask the 

Court to consider when deciding your case.  Disclosure includes the following: 
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a.  Witnesses – You must prepare a list of the witnesses whom you intend to 

present to testify on your behalf.  The list must include the name, address (if known), and 

telephone number (if known) of each witness and a reasonable description about what 

you expect that witness to say.  The list must be mailed or hand-delivered to the other 

party and to the Court at least 30 days before the hearing date listed above.  At the end of 

the list, you must certify the manner in which you provided the list to the other party.      

 

b.  Exhibits –  If you want the Court to consider anything in writing or that can be 

copied onto paper (such as e-mails, text messages, and photographs), you must do the 

following:  (i) prepare a list of each such item, (ii) copy each such item, and (iii) provide 

a copy of the list and a copy of each item on the list to the other party at least 15 days 

before the hearing date listed above.  At the end of the list, you must certify the manner in 

which you provided the list and copies of everything listed to the other party. DO NOT 

FILE EXHIBITS WITH THE CLERK OF COURT. 
 

In addition, a complete set of those exhibits (separated by a colored sheet) must be 

delivered to the Clerk of this Division at least 7 days before the hearing date so that the Clerk can 

“mark” the exhibits, i.e., assign the “official” numbers to those exhibits.  If you do not do so, 

then each of your exhibits will have to be marked during the hearing.  That will take time, and 

the time spent doing that will come out of the time allocated to you.  NOTE:  DO NOT 

PROVIDE A BENCH COPY OF YOUR EXHIBITS. 
 

NOTE: We do not hold spots for supplemental exhibits. 
 

  c.  Affidavit of Financial Information – At least 15 days before the hearing date 

listed above, you must file with the Court an Affidavit of Financial Information.  In addition, at 

the same time, you must provide a copy of that Affidavit and all attachments specified in the 

Affidavit to the other party.  The form to be used can be found on the Internet at this Court’s 

website. 

 

  d.  Expert Witnesses – Expert witnesses are generally people with specialized 

training, education, or expertise, such as psychologists or accountants.  If you intend to have an 

expert witness testify on your behalf, you must provide the name of the expert witness and the 

subject matter of his/her testimony to the other party not less than 45 days before the scheduled 

hearing date. 

 

These requirements regarding expert witnesses do not apply to court-appointed parenting 

coordinators, Court Appointed Advisers, and other court appointees who submit written reports 

to the Court and the parties in advance of the hearing.  You will be permitted to have that person 

testify as you would any other witness, so long as you have included that person on your list of 
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witnesses.  Whether or not you ask that person to testify on your behalf, if you want the Court to 

consider any report that person wrote, you must include it on your list of exhibits.   

 

 2.  Discovery – All discovery (for example, interrogatories, requests for documents, and 

depositions) must be completed at least 20 days before the hearing date listed above.   

 

  a.  For interrogatories and document requests, “completed” means that you must 

send them to the other party so that the responses will be due at least 20 days before the 

hearing date.     

 

  b.  Any deposition transcripts, interrogatory answers, or written responses to 

document requests that you want the Court to consider should be listed on your  list of exhibits. 

 

  c.  You must comply with any reasonable request from the other party for written 

consents or releases that will allow the other party to obtain records and other documents that the 

Court may need to consider, including records from a bank or other financial institution where 

you have an account, a company including present and past employers, or health care providers 

including medical professionals who have treated you.   

 

 i.  A party making such a request must have a reasonable basis for doing 

so and may not use this requirement as an opportunity to conduct a fishing 

expedition in the hope that something useful may turn up.   

 

 ii.  If a party acts unreasonably, either when making such a request or 

when responding to it, in a way that forces the other party to incur any expense 

that could have been avoided, the party who acts unreasonably may be required to 

reimburse that expense.   

 

 3.  Prehearing Memorandum (Mandatory) – At least 7 days before the hearing date 

listed above, you must provide the Court with a Prehearing Memorandum.  You must also 

provide a copy to the opposing party unless that party has an attorney, and in that event, the copy 

must be provided to that attorney.  The Memorandum should specify in detail what you want the 

Court to do and explain why that is reasonable.  The Memorandum should also include a list of 

the witnesses and exhibits you intend to present at the hearing. 

 

  a.  A summary of the issues for which you want rulings from the Court (such as 

custody, child support, parenting time or visitation, division of property, division of debts, 

spousal maintenance, and so forth). 
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  b.  If there is a disagreement about parenting time, your Memorandum should 

include the specific, detailed parenting plan that you want the Court to adopt, including regular, 

holiday, and vacation parenting time.  Forms for parenting time can be found on the Internet, and 

the completion and attachment of such a form to your Memorandum will be sufficient.   

 

  c.  Your Memorandum should include your final list of witnesses. 

 

  d.  Your Memorandum should include your final list of exhibits. 

 

CRITICAL NOTE TO PARTIES:  If there is any issue about which you want 

the Court to make a ruling, and you fail to identify it in your Prehearing 

Memorandum, or if you fail to submit a Prehearing Memorandum altogether, 

unless you have a very compelling excuse for that failure, you may be deemed to 

have waived that issue.  Submitting a Prehearing Memorandum on the date of the 

hearing is the equivalent of not submitting one at all.   

 

The parties are not required to file a Joint Prehearing Statement.  Instead, each 

party is required to file the separate Prehearing Memorandum described above.  If 

the parties believe that it would be beneficial to submit a Joint Prehearing 

Statement, that will be acceptable so long as that Joint Prehearing Statement is 

timely submitted and it complies substantively with the requirements listed above. 

 

 4.  Attorney’s Fees – If a party requests an award of attorneys’ fees and costs, the 

request should be noted in a single sentence in the Prehearing Memorandum along with citations 

to the legal authority on which the request is based.     

  

 5.  Parental Education Program – If you and the other party have a natural or adopted 

minor child in common who is under the age of 18, then, if you have not done so already, at least 

7 days before the hearing date listed above, you must file with the Court proof that you have 

complied with the Parental Education Program requirements of A.R.S. § 25-351 and following. 

 

What Happens When 

A Party Does Not Comply with These Requirements 

 

 If you do not appear for the hearing on the date and at the time stated above, or if you do 

not comply with one or more of the requirements listed above, and you cannot provide a 

reasonable excuse for doing so, the Court may penalize you in one or more ways.  Penalties may 

include a refusal to allow you to present certain evidence, a financial penalty, or a hearing that 

proceeds as if you have consented to what the other party has requested (i.e., proceeding by 

default).  See Ariz. Rs. Fam. L. P. 71(A); Maricopa Cty. Sup. Ct. R. 6.2(e).    



 

 

 

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 

MARICOPA COUNTY 

 
FC 2009-001603  03/13/2014 

   

 

Docket Code 056 Form D000C Page 9  

 

 

 

Finally, 

A Few Suggestions 
 

 In addition to complying with the requirements listed above, the presentation of your case 

probably will be much more effective if you do the following (but, these are only suggestions): 

 

 1.  If any of your exhibits contain more than five pages, and those pages do not have page 

numbers on them, then without blocking out any relevant information, write in page numbers 

before you make the copies that you deliver to the Clerk and send to the other party.  If possible, 

place those page numbers at or near the bottom right corner or the top right corner of each page.  

That way, during the hearing, it will become much easier for witnesses, and the other party to 

find a specific page within a multi-page exhibit. 

 

Summary of Important Deadlines 
  

Last day to identify witnesses – 30 days before the hearing date. 

 

Last day to identify and provide copies of exhibits – 15 days before the hearing date. 

 

Last day to deliver exhibits to the Court’s Clerk – 7 days before the hearing date. 

 

Last day to file Affidavit of Financial Information (and provide copy to the other party) 

– 15 days before the hearing date.   

 

Last day to provide copy of expert witness reports or declarations to the Court and the 

other party – 45 days before the hearing date. 

 

Last day to complete discovery – 20 days before the hearing date. 

 

Last day to file Prehearing Memorandum (and provide copy to the other party) – 7 

days before the hearing date. 

 

Last day to file proof of completion of Parental Education Program – 7 days before the 

hearing date.  

 

2:04 p.m. Matter concludes. 
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All parties representing themselves must keep the Court updated with address changes.  

A form may be downloaded at: http://www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov/SuperiorCourt/Self-

ServiceCenter. 

 

http://www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov/SuperiorCourt/Self-ServiceCenter
http://www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov/SuperiorCourt/Self-ServiceCenter

